2018 Award Winners

Award for Outstanding Pre-Hospital Provider                              Melanie Welcher                                                                                    Melanie is the definition of what the word committed means. Not only does she volunteer at WARS, but is the manager for UVA’s STEMM. Melanie is truly a prime example of a public servant, leader and most importantly, friend.


Award for Outstanding Pre-Hospital Educator                                 Kathy Hatter                                                                                                Kathy teaches EMT classes with special attention and dedication to the volunteer system. Kathy has modeled leadership and dedication to the ESM education and mentorship.



Award for Outstanding Contribution to EMS Telecommunication  Michael Grandstaff                                                                                  Michael has been an extremely professional Dispatcher for Fluvanna County for quite some time. Michael was handed promotion and responsibility for the replacement of our entire public safety radio communication system. He handles it with professionalism.

Mr. Grandstaff.jpg


Award for Nurse with Outstanding Contribution to EMS                Ruth Hurley                                                                                                Ruth’s compassion and empathy as a nurse continues in her role as a medic. She contributes by working on recruitment and retention as well as special events for her agency. In her unique position as nurse and EMS provider, it allows her to truly understand patient’s needs.



Award for Outstanding Contribution to EMS Preparedness and Response.                                                                                            Charlottesville Fire Department                                          Charlottesville Albemarle Rescue Squad                                              While working an event, an unforeseen incident occurred causing a mass casualty incident. Both Charlottesville Fire Department and Charlottesville Albemarle Rescue Squad worked together seamlessly to provide high quality patient care and emergency management.



Award for Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior                                         Savannah McPherson                                  Savannah is a fast learner with amazing situational awareness. She shows empathy and objectivity when dealing with patients. I love volunteering because it makes me feel important. Savannah demonstrates an extreme willingness to create a better world for herself and others.



                                             Charles Hatter                                              Charles is an active member of the cadet program. Charles takes every opportunity to learn from senior technicians and assists during calls. Charles has spent his life learning new things and improving his skills so he can serve others.


A few more photos.......

gathering together

gathering together

family time

family time



TJEMS 2017 Regional Awards

Regional Award Winners 2017

Regional Award Winners 2017


Congratulations to all of our winners!

Outstanding Contribution to EMS Health and Safety: Dr. Richard Westphal

Outstanding Pre Hospital Provider: Pete Syme (CARS)

Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior: Catherine Adams (WARS)

Nurse with Outstanding Contribution to EMS: Kimberly Lowry, RN (SMJH)

Outstanding Telecommunications Dispatcher: Jonathan Grimm (LCSOECD)

Physician with Outstanding Contribution to EMS: Dr. John Gaughen

Outstanding EMS Administrator: R. John Lye (LMVRS)

Excellence in EMS: Buck DeForge (UVA Pegasus)

Outstanding Contribution to EMS Emergency Preparedness & Response: UVA Special Event Medical Management

Outstanding EMS Agency: Lake Monticello Volunteer Rescue Squad

Life Time Achievement Award: William H. Thompson, Jr. "Junior"